Section Maps information and handy links

Hole in the wall

The Parks & Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory provide excellent maps of the12 sections of the Larapinta Trail. These maps can be viewed and / or downloaded from their website Larapinta Trail 

Down load individual section maps and descriptions

Section 1 - Alice Springs Telegraph Station to Simpsons Gap

Section 2 - Simpsons Gap to Jay Creek

Section 3 - Jay Creek to Standley Chasm

Section 4 - Standley Chasm to Birthday Waterhole

Section 5 - Birthday Waterhole to Hugh Gorge

Section 6 - Hugh Gorge to Ellery Creek

Section 7 - Ellery Creek to Serpentine Gorge

Section 8 - Serpentine Gorge to Serpentine Chalet Dam

Section 9 - Serpentine Chalet Dam to Ormiston Gorge

Section 10 - Ormiston Gorge to Finke River

Section 11 - Finke River to Redbank Gorge

Section 12 - Redbank Gorge to Mt Sonder return


The Larapinta Trail Kit available direct from Alice Wanderer Larapinta Transfers or from Parks and Wildlife. It provides maps and valuable tips on the trail and is an excellent source of information. It describes the walking conditions and features that you will encounter, and links the sign post indicators marked along the trail by the picture of a man looking at a book. They also feature side view contours to describe the terrain plus the ascent and decent of the climbs you will encounter.


The Larapinta Trail kit can be posted to you at a cost of $45 per kit and is highly recommended as a resource.